The River City Renegade

Happy trails

16 Comments

I’m afraid the River City Renegade is at trail’s end, kids.

Yup, that’s all she wrote.

Actually, I thought this day had arrived two years ago, when I advised the half dozen people who actually follow this blog that I was throwing a leg over the saddle and riding off into the sunset. Turns out I wasn’t quite prepared to let go, though. Now I am.

Happy trails to y’all (especially Bombers and Jets fan boys and girls).

cowgirl3

16 thoughts on “Happy trails

  1. Say it ain’t so Patti! It’s such a good column. More legitimate LOLs than any other sports column I read. I don’t even live in Wpg, and The Renegade is essential reading for me. Maybe I should have piped up earlier how much I enjoy this work.

    Like

  2. Well that’s too bad. I only discovered your content a few months ago. Best wishes.

    Like

  3. This is horrible news.

    You were the best sports columnist covering Winnipeg sports and didn’t even live in Winnipeg or travel with the ‘Peg teams.

    I liked you back when you were Pat Doyle and loved your work as Patti Dawn Swanson.

    I hope you reconsider (again).

    If not: Thank you for the great run!!

    *Bob McCulloch* *Box 145 * *Treherne, Manitoba, Canada * *R0G 2V0*

    *USA Address:*

    *1350 S Greenfield Rd.* *Unit #1215* *Mesa, Arizona, USA* *85206 *

    On Fri, Nov 4, 2016 at 9:03 AM, The River City Renegade wrote:

    > pattidawnswansson posted: “I’m afraid the River City Renegade is at > trail’s end, kids. Yup, that’s all she wrote. Actually, I thought this day > had arrived two years ago, when I advised the half dozen people who > actually follow this blog that I was throwing a leg over the sadd” >

    Like

  4. Giddy up, Patti. Jude

    Like

    • Thank you, Jude. So nice working with you and I shall forever be grateful for you lovely intro speech. Thank you for making me a better sports editor than I might have become.

      Like

  5. Oh Patti I too am so sorry to hear this news yet completely understand the desire to finish on a high!! I was so happy to have discovered you after Vic’s demise. There has not been any other in the industry, whose talent and personal journey, I have admired or enjoyed more. My only regret is I did not rediscover you earlier. Be blessed as you ride off into the “sunset” of wherever life takes you!! If I’m ever in Victoria I’d love to see you again.

    Like

    • I’ll tell you what, Deb. If I’m ever in Winnipeg again, you shall be the first person I contact.
      I remember the Brier in Calgary with such fondness, not because of the games, but because of the personal attachment I experienced with yourself, Vic, Dan Carey and others. It was a very, very special week for me. I shall never forget the kindness and niceties that you extended to me.
      I still rate that week as my favorite time in 30 years in jock journalism, because of the personal touch.
      I thank you for that so much.
      Vic was special, but always remember that so are you. Please never lose sight of that.

      Like

  6. What a talented, honest and worthwhile writer you are. With all of the challenges facing sports writers, and writers in general, I selfishly feel at a great loss when another gifted journalist is taken from us. Thanks very much for the many smiles.

    Like

  7. Retiring? You? Hopefully you’re pulling a Brett Favre, Ms. Swanson.

    Like

    • Oh, geez, Favre’s flipping and flopping is the reason I stopped rooting for the Vikings. I couldn’t possibly do what he did. Could I?

      Like

Leave a Reply

